AGS Dispute Resolution

AGS is the government specialist in resolving and managing disputes – through alternative dispute resolution (including mediation, arbitration and conciliation) and litigation. We act in all types of matters – from small claims and disputes, to the largest and most sensitive litigation matters in which the Commonwealth is involved.

A substantial practice with more than 170 lawyers, AGS Dispute Resolution lawyers are experienced in all Australian courts and tribunals including the High Court, the Federal Court, Supreme Courts of all Australian States and Territories and the Federal Circuit Court. We provide a comprehensive range of dispute resolution services including strategic review and legal analysis, assessment of dispute resolution options, gathering and analysing facts and evidence including working with medical and expert witnesses, preparing court documents and case management plans, addressing interlocutory matters, court appearances, selection, briefing and management of counsel, and representing clients in settlement conferences and mediations.


Professional Leaders

Tom Howe QC
Chief Counsel Dispute Resolution
Simon Daley
Chief Solicitor Dispute Resolution
Paul Vermeesch
Deputy Chief Solicitor Dispute Resolution
Catherine Leslie
Special Counsel Tax Litigation
Andras Markus
Special Counsel Dispute Resolution
Glenn Owbridge
Special Counsel Competition and Consumer law
Dale Watson
Special Counsel Dispute Resolution
Senior General Counsel
Senior General Counsel Dispute Resolution
Peter Macliver
Director AGS Perth and Senior General Counsel Dispute Resolution

National Leader and Manager

Matthew Blunn
National Leader Dispute Resolution
Nerida Nelson
National Manager Dispute Resolution and Director AGS Adelaide
Emily McBride
National Manager Dispute Resolution

Team Leaders

Katrina Close
Director AGS Melbourne
Justin Hyland
Senior Executive Lawyer
Justin Davidson
Senior Executive Lawyer
Tony Giugni
Senior Executive Lawyer
Jane Lye
Director AGS Brisbane and Senior Executive Lawyer
Emily Nance
Senior Executive Lawyer
Kristy Alexander
Senior Executive Lawyer
Louise Rafferty
Senior Executive Lawyer
Fiona Dempsey
Senior Executive Lawyer